The Disappearing Spoon: And Other True Tales of Madness, Love, and the History of the World from the Periodic Table of the Elements

Disappear

 

Prior to reading this book, my knowledge of periodic table was limited to just remembering the atomic number and the number of electrons in the outer shell of certain elements. Apart from this, perhaps all I know is the usage of some of the basic elements and their chemical reaction equations. This booked changed that all. It has so much vivid information to give on the elements and how these elements changed the course of the world in the past and the current century. I liked the way the author has put forward the stories related to origin and discovery of the elements, be it the impact of element molybdenum in the World War 1 or the tellurium gold rush in Australia in the late 1800.

Some parts of the book get too much into technical, but I see in certain places the author has tried his best to explain in the layman way ( which I very  much appreciate).I do hope that this book finds its usage as part of school/college curricula so that students can get to know the fun and inspiring stories behind the origin and usage of the elements.
I am glad I read this book!

Just like the author mentioned his 5 favorite elements, I have mine too:
1) Molybdenum – Due to its discovery in Colorado (place where I stay currently) and its impact on World War 1 and immediately after.
2) Germanium – For my love of transistors . The first electron transistor was made with germanium and not silicon.
3) Aluminum – The way it’s market value was brought down in a short span of time after Charles Hall discovered an easier way to purify Aluminium.
4) Uranium – For its powerful involvement in radioactivity.
5) Tellurium – For the gold rush in Australia in late 1800.

Leave a comment